Corporate Digital Etiquette – A Comparison

In my short time on Twitter, I have noticed an incredible range in the digital etiquette of different edtech corporations/organizations. It can become clear quite quickly who really cares about their customers and who does it to see the betterment of society due to their product, and who simply is asleep at the wheel!

The two sites I noticed the big difference between are Flipgrid, a brand new and exciting resource I was introduced to through ECMP355, and WordPress, the blog I have been using semi-faithfully since 2nd year education. I also used WordPress when I was a kid and it was more of a journalism site for reading and writing fiction – so I have a long and rocky history with it!

I love WordPress as a site because of all that it has to offer for blogging, but it goes with its share of frustrations. I had two questions which I thought were fairly simple. I even repeated one once (the first time it was just a tweet of utter frustration).

No replies by WordPress. This is how I felt.

Other people like and retweet which is proof, to me, that these questions are valid to be asked and that, if WordPress answered these questions, they would be helping out more than one person. I also understand I can possibly get the answers through trial and error, reading FAQs on their site, or by Googling for others’ solutions – however, if you are on digital media, why not really be there to help a girl out quickly?

WordPress only tweets every few weeks, and if you look at their Twitter page it has no retweets to their followers’ pages. I think the site needs to hire a full time tweeter to get people more excited about what WordPress has to offer, and answer all of our questions!

 

Flipgrid, on the other hand, is the coolest organization around when it comes to social media presence. I follow them on Twitter and they are proactively sharing their resource as well as reacting instantaneously to people (customers) with answers or positive comments/likes/retweets. They help their customers get noticed, educated and connected on Twitter in the meantime. I got 25+ likes on one of my tweets and I am sure it is because they retweeted it! Just check out these tweets below. Here, they answer a great question:

They re-tweeted this, and a few other tweets I put out about them.

I even learned something new about Flipgrid while writing this post – people do face-to-face educational chats with other professionals!!! What!!! This could be a way to expand my professional development and PLN. I am using this as an example, showing that they retweet what other Tweeters have to say about them – they are interested in what is being done with their product.

They liked every tweet I made that had their handle in it – even one that didn’t (my blog post):

This is how Flipgrid makes me feel:

So, How Does This Apply As A Teacher?

From this, I reflect that, as an educator, I need to be available in diverse ways to my students. It is no longer acceptable to ONLY have a phone number and an office to meet face-to-face. Even an e-mail is starting to seem lacking. I think teachers should still have their down time (students shouldn’t expect e-mails back until next work day – although the reality is that many teachers will reply back before then out of the kindness of their hearts!) HOWEVER I realize now how it makes a difference, as a student, when you can just ask a simple question through writing (or a short video!) rather than bothering with a phone call or calling a meeting. Becoming connected in more technology won’t mean more of a hassle, it can mean LESS of a hassle (quick answers) for both teacher and student.

I think it is wonderful that students, staff, and parents can now reach me through my blog, Twitter, or e-mail.

2 thoughts on “Corporate Digital Etiquette – A Comparison

  1. Pingback: How Good Of A Digital Educator Have I Been? | Taylor Harder's Teaching Blog

Leave a Reply

