Try to Be A Good Role Model – Always in All Ways

Listen here to my voice recording summarizing what I took out of this Google Teacher Tribe Podcast with Jen Giffen as most important to my educational philosophy.

If you’d rather read than listen, I basically summarize how Giffen explained that as teachers, we shouldn’t role model to our students a refusal to learn new skills in new areas (including transferring knowledge to the digital realm with new technological apps), just like our students shouldn’t be able to refuse to follow different teachers’ outlines year to year. If we expect flexibility of our students, they should be able to expect flexibility of us, too.

It just makes sense to show our students proper attitudes that invite learning and excitement rather than hesitance and anxiety. As teachers I think we should be willing to “try anything once [or more]” if it sounds at least mildly educational and helpful. Katia Hildebrant, my ECMP355 prof, kind of touch on this in our last class regarding coding when she said that we could either approach it from an ‘Oh no, I messed up, this is horrible’ approach or an ‘Oh I messed up, oh well, I will get better eventually’.

I wanted to blog about this because I feel this sentiment relates strongly to my long-standing (and never shaking) belief of integrity and importance of fostering mutual respect. Students won’t take you serious if you don’t take your calling serious – if you promise something, make sure you mean it, and follow through.

There were also two more points that stood out to me from the Google Tribe podcast that I thought would fit in the Resources category moreso than the Educational Philosophies:

  1. Google Forms can be used as exit slips to a class (a paperless way – and easier to track and save way – of collecting assessments on students)
  2. Classrooms can use Google Hangouts to do a kind of 20 questions game – the catch is that neither class knows where the other is located, so they need to put their geographical and social knowledge to the test as they ask relevant questions (link explaining this further here) and here is its Skype counterpart.

In regards to a positive/negative mindset when learning, I recalled video that I had seen on TV. I discovered that it can’t be found with a quick Browser/Youtube search – darn! To summarize, it starts off with a pencil-written word CAN’T. Then an eraser comes off and erases part of the word so that it spells CAN. I think I may have come across it when I was watching my taped videos from the early 2000s the other week, and forgot that the advertisement is 20 years old!! If I find it I will make sure to note who made the commercial, because it was short and very inspiring.

When I first saw it I was immediately like – wow, this was an advertisement well spent watching. Something that can be shown to my elementary students at the beginning of the year or in the midst of difficult assignments. I once had a professor who told me – if you think you can’t, then you probably won’t. So much of our success depends on our mindset towards it.


I wanted to share one other video that I have long liked, but have not shared online until now. If a teacher says something and does another, in my experience, the children always focus on what you do, because that is more often where the honesty lies.

The below video is very graphic and raw and definitely brings out the emotions when you see children imitating their parents step for step. There is violence, so watch at your discretion.

 

Obviously there will be times when we fail, or we make bad decisions for our children to witness. The best thing we can do in those situations is reflect on them and turn them into teachable moments – own up to your mistakes, apologize to your kids, explain why you thought you were wrong. Honesty is always key.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

