Long Exposure Fails and Night Photography Highlights

I still can’t get a handle on long exposure. I can do it, but I can’t do it WELL. I tried to have a funky line of cars going past the church and ended up with this.

Creek & 1st United Church March 19
It just doesn’t look like those professional, intense citylife shots you see. I had initially tried long exposure with running water at sundown… That was a fail too. 
Long Exposure... 2-4 Second Shutter Compared to 1/2 or faster. Darker shots are faster and sharper. Just experimenting... I realize these are not great.
Fluffy overexposed water or…

Long Exposure... 2-4 Second Shutter Compared to 1/2 or faster. Darker shots are faster and sharper. Just experimenting... I realize these are not great.
Dark sharp water. 

But on the plus side…

I got some really cool angled and lighted shots and had a wonderful time editing them! I love how there is just a sliver of light bouncing off the fir tree from the streetlight. So spooky. FYI this gem was taken without tripod, through the windshield, in nearly complete darkness:

Creek & 1st United Church March 19
And you can’t beat the overexposed oversaturated rainbow over First United Church as lazerbeams shoot down the street:

Creek & 1st United Church March 19
Check out my full landscape album here

Leave a Reply

