Photo-Experiment at Doc’s Town Church!

 

 

 

I followed Trish’s advice of taking photos from different angles and at different times of the day. I edited both sets of photos but I will draw attention to how they still manage to look different – beyond the scope of what editing can do. I am realizing that, even with the professional editing at our fingertips today… lighting. and. timing. still. matter. The differences were, literally, “night and day”.

I took the daylight photos around 11 am. It was a sunny day – it had just snowed but it was quickly melting. I took the evening photos around 8:00 pm, and as you can tell some are significantly darker than others because I took them as the sun was setting. I took all of the photos in a Westward direction – some straight West, some (the left wagon wheel) to the Southwest, and some (the right wagon wheel) to the Northwest. I tried to take similar shots in the daytime and nighttime to show how lighting ALONE can change mood and story.

For the nighttime shots, I loved working with the harsh directional lighting. I loved seeing the glow of light off of the tree branches, and the point of interest that showed up on the door of the church, like it was beckoning someone to come closer. I loved how creepy it all was. The poor lighting + phone camera = shots that were grainy and off-colour, and I loved it all. Some of them look like movie covers for 1970s horror films.

Night and Day... Comparing 11 am shots to 8 pm shots of same place.

 

Night and Day... Comparing 11 am shots to 8 pm shots of same place.

Night and Day... Comparing 11 am shots to 8 pm shots of same place.

For example in the daytime I took this shot of branches in front of the church and the branches just looked like a nuisance, like they were in the way. However, look at the same shot at night, and suddenly the branches help tell the story (am I right?) – they are hiding this creepy church from view.

Night and Day... Comparing 11 am shots to 8 pm shots of same place.

Night and Day... Comparing 11 am shots to 8 pm shots of same place.

The daytime was fun insofar as working with colour and shadows. I could artistically shoot the “Doc’s Town” sign shadow, and in the nighttime I obviously couldn’t do that because there were no lights close enough to the sign. I could also play around with the royal blue sky, the burgundy wagon wheels, and contrast them against the white church and fence and snow.

Night and Day... Comparing 11 am shots to 8 pm shots of same place.

Night and Day... Comparing 11 am shots to 8 pm shots of same place.

Night and Day... Comparing 11 am shots to 8 pm shots of same place.

Recap: In the daytime, I find shadows and colour. In the nighttime, I find light and stories. I still managed to find shadows at night two (see the photo of the trees shadowing the fence) but it was not my main focus. It just distracted me… I am often distracted!

Night and Day... Comparing 11 am shots to 8 pm shots of same place.

As you can tell, I had to think of a lot of different things at different times of the day. I am so glad I did this “experiment” (trying to keep all variables except 1 – the time of day – the same)! I felt a bit like Jekyll & Hyde – is it just me or do the two sets of photos look like they were taken by two different photographers?!

Lastly I wanted to point out how I am able to see my own growth as a photographer. When I first got out and snapped my photos I snapped them instinctively, looking at the sign and wanting things to be “noticed”. However, this doesn’t tell a story – the sign interrupts the church, nothing seems to have artistic purpose. It is just a “Hey, I’m at Doc’s Town” photo:

Night and Day... Comparing 11 am shots to 8 pm shots of same place.

Then, check out these (UNEDITED! RAW!) photos I took as I continued to think about angles, creativity, telling a story…

Night and Day... Comparing 11 am shots to 8 pm shots of same place.

Night and Day... Comparing 11 am shots to 8 pm shots of same place.

You can see all of my favourites (plus the one “beginning” shot) here.

One thought on “Photo-Experiment at Doc’s Town Church!

  1. Pingback: Photography Learning Summary & Final Reflections | Taylor Harder's Teaching Blog

Leave a Reply

