Tweet Tweet!

 

I am doing my ECMP355 Week 3 blog prompt on my feelings on Twitter. I have been tweeting for a few weeks past the prompt, so I have a bit more insight into the site now.

What I hate most about Twitter is that it is so unorganized and all over the place.

What I love most about Twitter is that it is so unorganized and all over the place.

Also…

What I love most about Twitter is that I can’t say much over 100 words.

What I hate most about Twitter is that I can’t say much over 100 words.

http://funny-pictures-blog.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/Twitter.jpg

Let me explain:

By nature, I am not an organized individual. I struggle to keep things straight, handy, organized, ready to go. I have a quick mind but am not very disciplined at organizing. Furthermore, I forget like crazy. So to have a Twitter feed is great, for me to share what catches my eye in a week… But in a month I will have forgotten about some important Tweets, because they just disappear in my feed. I have found a way to organize People and my own Tweets, but it seems so tedious to go into each tweet after the fact and click ‘Move to List’. It would be nicer to have that option immediately, as you tweet. It just seems to not be conducive to organizing. Padlet, on the other hand, is very handy AND a great tool for keeping you organized because you can have different padlets and different boards within each padlet.

HOWEVER, I also like Twitter because it gives me a quick, random snapshot of awesome, beautiful, amazing, important things – that I might not have otherwise seen, because I am not going to go around all day typing in different keywords like “Craft Ideas” or “New Technology”. If it were to be formally organized into different groups, I wouldn’t get that snapshot page where I will learn something new and unexpected. I like surprises.

Also, regarding the word count. I have verbal diarrhea. When I am in person, I don’t talk as much because social cues stop me (ie. I don’t want to seem ” weird”, I don’t want to come off as rude, and usually I have too many things in my head to pick one and spit it out) but online, I type and type and type and type because I can.

Now, when I find something exciting on Twitter, I want to beef it up for my followers. I have never mastered the art of “short and sweet”. Those words are foreign concepts that I have always attempted to grasp, but never quite succeeded.

Therefore I think it is very beneficial for me to force myself into that format. I have went 50 words over and have had to think critically about what words are “extra fluff” and which are crucial to getting my point across effectively. I take the extra time and cut it down and actually feel proud instead of deflated that I didn’t get to say all I wanted. Twitter has helped me, and so I am grateful for it – even if, in most other platforms, I will continue to be myself.

For many of my students though, I feel like we need to be careful not to narrow (and water) communication down to memes and one-liners online. Students still need to learn the importance of elaboration. I feel like, although a picture (or meme, or witty one-liner) can speak a thousand words… if we don’t say those thousand words somewhere, too, they get lost in silence or misinterpretation. I want to instill passion in my students to write with their hearts on their sleeve, and to get into something deep and not be ashamed or reserved or overwhelmed by it. I think Twitter communication is useful, but in moderation. For long-winded folks like myself, it can be a fun learning project in more ways than one. 🙂

Tied into this is the importance of actually looking into an article and reading it (as Katia said) before you like it or comment on it. I feel as though it is so easy to paint things black and white – liberal and republication being equated to Clinton and Trump for example. I know there are republicans out there who do not support Trump (and liberals who did not support Clinton) and there are so many other factors, yet I hear “you dumb liberal” or “you dumb republican” thrown around, or insinuated through cheeky articles and Tweets and so on. More importantly than ever, in Twitterland, we need to remember not to judge a book by its cover.

http://memeblender.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/hipster-beethoven-before-twitter.jpg

One thought on “Tweet Tweet!

Leave a Reply

