Reflections on Session #1

First photo taken before I Googled puddle photography. Other photos taken after. I chose this place because it means something to me and I like to photograph what I can connect to.

This is the first photo I took. I told myself today was going to be the day I start Googling and messing around with my camera. As I was looking outside my kitchen window I thought that it could be cool to photograph puddles. So I got in my car and drove to the Research Station – I just felt as though that would be the best place for inspiration, since there is a gorgeous park with lots of trees there.

First photo taken before I Googled puddle photography. Other photos taken after. I chose this place because it means something to me and I like to photograph what I can connect to.

As I say in my Padlet on Puddle Photography (see last post), the biggest thing I took from the few websites I Googled was that, to do puddle photography, you need to get up close. I also was inspired to move onto the building at the research station, instead of solely focusing on the trees. I read an article on how a man was inspired to do puddle photography after having his head forced in a puddle by an RCMP officer (what a story!) and so I wanted to move on from trees. Trees are pretty and I am very close to nature, but I thought about trying to do photography that told a story…

First photo taken before I Googled puddle photography. Other photos taken after. I chose this place because it means something to me and I like to photograph what I can connect to.

The buildings at the Research Station are important to me because I worked summers there. I made lots of friends and have lots of memories. When I look at this photo above, it seems faded and blue and kind of ghostly – like memories of days gone by. Also, there is talk of knocking down the large building (see the photo in the middle) as they build a new building beside it. I am upset about this!

I also noticed on these sites that the photos were not portrayed how they had been taken. I was inspired to try the same thing. If you take a photo “naturally” the reflection is upside down (see the first two images). So, I mirrored and rotated the photo until it looked like it wasn’t a reflection… but rather, was the real thing.

Doing this project has really gotten me thinking about double exposure photography. The best example I can think of would be the opening scenes in True Detective. I am considering looking into messing around with that. I have always been into digital design so why not combine photography and digital design? Stay tuned.

One thought on “Reflections on Session #1

  1. Pingback: Photography Learning Summary & Final Reflections | Taylor Harder's Teaching Blog

Leave a Reply

