Rock’n’Roll Organ Exploration – Reading Music and Intro to Noteflight

So, I have progressed a bit on my rock organ idea. I found this site, which proposes to teach how to read music in 15 minutes. I already can read sheet music – I just didn’t know where each note corresponded with each key on the keyboard. So this will be very quick learning for me, as I already know about flats, sharps, the fact that E-flat is the same as D-sharp and so on.

I also found a tip on this site, where it was stressed to use a metronome while you play. Since my organ comes with a built in rhythm section, I will make sure I turn it on, so I develop a kind of internal clock. This would be most useful if I were playing band and needed to set the pace for everyone else, but it is still a good habit to get into (just in case!)

Website for Learning Rock Keyboard

Also, here is Noteflight. I would highly reccommend this as a resource to any educator wanting to get kids inspired to make their own masterpieces and self-teach (or follow tutorials) to learn to read and transpose music. You can drag and drop notes to learn rhythms, pitches, and make melodies – you can hear them as you make them!

Noteflight – Online Notation Technology

I made a piece of music back in Grade 11 that I would like to share with everyone. I made it with different instruments, and have never actually PLAYED it, so part of my goal (whether or not I choose this for my project) is to play this on the organ.

Please Listen! ♥ “Cold Comfort” – I created this piece in high school – no inspiration that I can think of. It just came to me. I think it is important to connect students’ interests or past achievements to their current challenges – so why not try it myself? It will give me extra motivation to want to learn this skill.

Leave a Reply

